Why Does High School Suck So Much??

Okay, here I am with another post. Today I will be talking with you about the wonders of high school from my perspective. This will basically be like a mini rant so, bare with me here.

I am a senior in high school with about two months left, which means I’m pretty excited to finally finish and get the hell out of grade school life, however right now, the second I walk into that dreadful place day after day, I immediately want to turn around and leave. Not trying to be one of those cliché high school students who hates their school and wants to hypothetically die and never return to their terrible, provincial town, but it’s true. Maybe it’s because I’m just tired of having the same exact routine everyday or dealing with ignorant people who don’t bother to pick up a book and educate themselves, but after four long, dreadful years, I’ve come to the conclusion that who ever said “high school is the best four years of your life” is utterly full of bullshit. The loud conversations of underclass students around me, the inconsiderate pushing and shoving through the overcrowded hallways, the unnecessary screeching when girls see their friends that they saw the day before makes me want to fast forward to college right now. I mean, it’s nice and cute that they have friends and are excited to see them all the time, but screaming at a person who’s right in front of you at 7:30 in the morning??? It’s a no from me. Of course, it’s not that I think I’m a too-cool-for-school kind of person, I just wish people wouldn’t be so irritating so early in the morning.

The stress of constant homework, doing perfectly on tests, AP classes, honors classes, looking a certain way society expects you to look, having a social life, playing sports, worrying about the future of college, scholarships, having a part time job after school, keeping up with house chores all piles onto a student, and adults may not see this as stressful, but it is. Not to mention problems at home for some individuals or even issues related to their so called friends. Obviously it only gets worse as we get older and blah blah blah, but there’s no doubting that it’s a lot to handle at times.

Don’t get me wrong, high school can definitely be fun, especially when you are a social person and have a solid group of friends. There’s parties and hanging out on weekends without as many responsibilities that you have in your 20’s, 30’s and so on.  There’s sweet sixteens, learning how to drive (something I have yet to do despite being 18 ha), and many of your first times such as your first kiss, your first date, or even your first time. There’s experimenting and finding out who you are, which can be enjoyable and exhilarating according to some. Unfortunately, that’s not the case for a poor ol’ anti-social introvert like me. Now, you’re probably saying, “well, duh! That’s why you think high school sucks so much! Get out there, be social! Talk to people! Make friends!!!!!” I know, I know. But it’s the spring semester of senior year so what’s the point now, right? High school is apparently supposed to “prep you for the real world” as some say, but in reality, college is the thing that really preps you for the real world. High school is basically a small step up from middle school, only with a bit more freedom to make your own decisions, however with that comes a lot more stress about the future and what you’re actually going to do for the rest of your life. You know, no big deal.

High school puts the notion in young student’s minds that if you have that perfect 4.0 GPA or the highest SAT score, then you’ll be more successful in life than someone who doesn’t, but that’s not always the case. School has become a constant fight for perfection – that no student can actually achieve – when really school should be about learning more and bettering your education. Students today, including myself, need to step back and realize that even though they just failed their math test for the second time or if their current high school relationship of six weeks just ended and they feel they will never love again (which is a bit dramatic at this age), life will still go on and there’s so much more to experience and learn in the future. PSA: Just because you don’t have the best grades or don’t graduate at the top of your class doesn’t mean it’s the end of the world!! Keep trying to strive for your own version of who you want to be, not who society wants you to be.

Anyway, little rant over I guess. Not even sure if this post makes sense, but I felt like I had to at least write something about school since it is currently overtaking my life.  Thank you for reading, catch y’all next weekend!

Leave a Reply

