Happy May!!

Hello internet. Tomorrow is the first day of May. Thirty one whole days before June. For students, the academic year is coming to an end and we’re finally going to be stress free for a couple of months before the same cycle begins again. For others, the warmest months of the year are approaching, which will feel heavenly after all the previous cold months of winter.

Longer days. Even longer nights. Driving with the windows down and blasting music with the cool winds blowing through your hair. Last minute ice cream and fro-yo runs. Late nights with your best friends. Free from worry at last.

Or at least that’s what I’m assuming. In reality, it’ll probably consist of mostly me crying in my room because I’ll be leaving for college in just a few months. After all the joy of being home with my family in the summer heat, I’ll have to leave it all behind in the Fall. It’ll be so strange and unfamiliar to not come home everyday and sleep in my own bed every night. Not to mention sharing a room with a complete stranger for a whole school year.

I mean, I know it’ll be “an experience”. I know it’ll be “the best years” of my life. I know there’s an endless amount of things waiting for me to enjoy. I just hope I’m not too homesick to enjoy it. Right now, and for the last few years of my life, I absolutely could not wait to go to college and start new and leave my old life behind. However, the more I think about it, the more I realize that my childhood is officially over. No more being dependent on my parents for literally everything. No more slacking off and being lazy all the time. It’s time to actually grow up and be an adult. Which is disgusting.

On the other hand, I’m quite excited to meet all the new students at college and just start fresh and maybe even create a new identity for myself while in school. To have classes that I can pick the time for. To not have to wake up at six am every morning. To begin planning out what I want to do with my life (which is p terrifying).  And to be on my own for the first time. A good and a bad thing, I think. I guess I’ll find out.

Tomorrow is the first day of May. Make these thirty one days count y’all!!! See you next weekend! 🙂

M.P

Leave a Reply

